Waiting on Wednesday -- Falling Into Place

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Breaking the Spine.  
  This week's can't-wait-to-read pre-publication book is Falling Into Place
Falling into Place


Falling Into Place

by Amy Zhang
Publication date: September 9th, 2014

From Goodreads:

On the day Liz Emerson tries to die, they had reviewed Newton’s laws of motion in physics class. Then, after school, she put them into practice by running her Mercedes off the road.

Why? Why did Liz Emerson decide that the world would be better off without her? Why did she give up? Vividly narrated by Liz’s imaginary friend from childhood, a friend she long ago abandoned, this heartbreaking and nonlinear novel pieces together the short and devastating life of Meridian High’s most popular junior girl. Mass, acceleration, momentum, force—Liz didn’t understand it in physics, and even as her Mercedes hurtles toward the tree, she doesn’t understand it now. How do we impact one another? How do our actions reverberate? What does it mean to be a friend? To love someone? To be a daughter? Or a mother? Is life truly more than cause and effect? Amy Zhang’s haunting and universal story will appeal to fans of Lauren Oliver, Gayle Forman, and Jay Asher.

Ull--er... I mean, Tur and Elsker cover reveal + #giveaway

Hey guys! I don't do very many cover reveals, but my pal ST is re-releasing her New Adult books, Tur and Elkser, and I had to get in on the action! I loved reading about these kick-butt protagonists... and Ull and his sweaters, well... let's just say that if you like Thor, you're going to love his step-son, Ull! :D

Here's the new covers, blurbs, and Rafflecopter! 



TUR
The Elsker Saga #0.5 
by ST Bende

Inga Andersson is the envy of every girl in Asgard. On the surface she has it all -- great friends, a job as Odin’s personal fight choreographer, and a happy ever after with her realm’s hottest assassin. But when evil invades Asgard, her perfect world comes crashing down. Someone is planning to kill off the gods, and Inga’s best friend Ull is first on their list. With the Norse apocalypse a nanosecond away, Inga has to decide how she’ll spend her final moments of freedom. Because from the moment this battle begins, Inga’s happily ever after will be nothing more than a memory. 
Some things are worth fighting for. Add to Goodreads




ELSKER
The Elsker Saga #1 
by ST Bende

You don’t win the heart of an immortal assassin without making a few enemies along the way.  Kristia Tostenson prefers Earl Grey to Grey Goose and book clubs to nightclubs, but when she transfers from her one-stoplight town to Cardiff University in Wales she falls in love with Ull Myhr.  Her new boyfriend isn’t exactly what she was expecting.  He’s an honest to goodness Norse God - an immortal assassin fated to die at Ragnarok, the battle destined to destroy Asgard and Earth.  Kristia’s crazy visions are the only thing that can save their realms.  Her orderly life just got very messy. Add to Goodreads



About ST:

Before finding domestic bliss in suburbia, ST Bende lived in Manhattan Beach (became overly fond of Peet’s Coffee) and Europe… where she became overly fond of the musical Cats. Her love of Scandinavian culture and a very patient Norwegian teacher inspired the ELSKER series. She hopes her characters make you smile and that one day pastries will be considered a health food.

You can follow ST Bende on Twitter (@stbende), and connect with her on Facebook, Goodreads, or her blog.

Waiting on Wednesday -- Kiss Kill Vanish

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Breaking the Spine.  
  This week's can't-wait-to-read pre-publication book is Kiss Kill Vanish
Kiss Kill Vanish


Kiss Kill Vanish

by Jessica Martinez
Publication date: October 7, 2014

From Goodreads:

One moment, she was wrapped in Emilio’s arms, melting into his kiss. The next, she was witnessing the unthinkable: a murder in cold blood, ordered by her father and carried out by her boyfriend. When Emilio pulled the trigger, Valentina disappeared. She made a split-second decision to shed her identity and flee her life of privilege, leaving the glittering parties and sultry nightlife of Miami far behind.

She doesn’t know how to explain to herself what she saw. All she knows now is that nothing she believed about her family, her heart, or Emilio’s love, was real.

She can change her name and deny her past, but Valentina can’t run from the truth. The lines between right and wrong, and trust and betrayal, will be blurred beyond recognition as she untangles the deceptions of the two men she once loved and races to find her own truth.

BY SUN AND CANDLELIGHT cover reveal and #giveaway

In case you missed it... Hafsah revealed BY SUN AND CANDLELIGHT's cover yesterday! I'm pretty excited about it, as it totally FEELS like Rowan. *squee* 

Teaser photo. Ha ha ha ha.
She's also giving away an ebook of both IF I SPEAK TRUE and BY SUN AND CANDLELIGHT, so head on over, and check it out! :D

April's #JLBgivesawayaDVD: Freaky Friday


Grotsky Little Biotch 


Hey, guys! Not that you need me to tell you with the post title and all, but April's #JLBgivesawayaDVD is...

Freaky Friday!!  
*cue applause* 
Cold sore! Cold sore!

Now, I know some of you are probably like, 

Channing Tatum
Yes. that *is* Jimmy and Channing. Enjoy.

...but I just want to say that if you haven't seen this more recent version (or you have, but it's been a while), Freaky Friday really is a FUN movie. And lookie here -- I'm giving one away for FREE! (For a cute, quick clip from IMDB, click HERE.)

As I've said many times, it makes me happy to share the things I enjoy with others, which is why I started doing this fun feature! So feel free to use the free entry option every time, or do a tweet here and there, too. Whatever works! Either way, I can't wait to see who wins. :D (Giveaway ends Friday, May 2nd.)

Oh yeah, and if you guys have a favorite line or two from the movie, please share them in the comments!


a Rafflecopter giveaway

This week's writerly news


Happy Friday! I'll keep this post short and sweet since my post was kind of long last week...

News/Noteworthy

Beighley let me interrogate him for this month's Readerly Interview, including questions about his favorite male and female characters, favorite series, and the condition of his books (because, you know, that is very important). (link)


Around the interwebs 

Choosing a book cover: relevance is a necessity: Tuesday I was at the Indie Ignites blog talking about book covers and how the relevance of the cover design comes into play. (link)

Greatly improving your vocabulary: Thursday I was at the Operation Awesome blog again talking about how words like great really aren't all that great when they're greatly used. (link)

This week's snack (aka, junk food):


Quaker Chewy Granola Bar Variety Pack, 60/0.84 oz

But wait... the most important part of this isn't the fact that you have to eat like ten to get full or that it's like eating cookies and the sugar low is astounding, it's this:



THANK GOODNESS THE INGREDIENTS ARE DELICIOUS! (I don't even want to think about the other options! *shudders*)

Music

Been rocking out to Skrillex whilst writing this week, including Promises, featuring Nero. (link)

Thinking...

... about sharing an occasional video after talking about it to my pal Ashley about it recently. At first I was going to do it on youtube, but I'm not sure I'm ready for that beast yet, so I might start by uploading it here and on my Facebook and Tumblr pages, and go from there. And if you're thinking, Why would anyone want to watch your stuff? I can promise you I've been thinking the same thing.


Me, in a nutshell

But... fangirling over my favorite stuff/books/movies or discussing characters or answering questions (if there are any asked) would be fun, so we'll see.

Also: By Sun and Candlelight's cover reveal is Monday (MONDAY!!!!), so this is me right now:


Image

Have a blessed weekend! (And don't forget to come back to see Rowan's cover! Woohoo!)

Waiting on Wednesday: False Future

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Breaking the Spine.  
  This week's can't-wait-to-read pre-publication book is False Future
False Future (False Memory, #3)


False Future

by Dan Krokos
Publication date: August 19th, 2014

From Goodreads:

True Earth has returned during a massive snowstorm in Manhattan-and this time they have an army. Rhys, Noble, Sophia, and Peter know they don't stand a chance against the enemy without Miranda. And once they revive her, she's horrified to find her world in flames.

The enemy occupation is brutal, but the director promises to release her hold on the city if Mr. East is turned in, and Miranda and her team are determined to find him. With her grief over the losses she has suffered fueling her spirit, Miranda knows that this time the sacrifices have to be worth it.

Packed with suspense and deception, Dan Krokos brings Miranda's journey to a mind-bending conclusion as she risks losing everything in the fight for her future.