#FinallyFriday {1}: Unlikely Warrior: A Jewish Soldier in Hitler's Army


Finally Friday is a meme started by me (Jessica, aka @coffeelvnmom) and J from @life_love_fandomsThis week's I-finally-read-this-waiting-on-Wednesday-book is: Unlikely Warrior: A Jewish Soldier in Hitler's Army

Unlikely Warrior: A Jewish Soldier in Hitler's Army(This review was originally posted 2/24/15.) I'm a sucker for WWII survival stories, especially when they're YA. And yet... it's been weeks since I finished Mr. Rauch's memoir, and I'm *still* not sure what to say. You think you know what it must have been like after learning about WWII so many times in school or watching movies or doing reports or reading books about it, but you don't. Not really. Nothing can prepare you for how atrocious things got on both sides of the warfront as the war continued. Nothing can prepare you for the emotional turmoil anyone put through war has to go through. Especially when you read true recounts down to specific details (like killing a few hundred lice every night just before going to bed, for instance--and this was one of the lesser horrific ones). It breaks you. 

Most stories about WWII have to do with survivors *not* on the side of Hitler. What makes Unlikely Warrior: AJSIHA so different is that, amidst the chaos of war and death and prejudice, Georg was not a survivor of a camp, or a Jew in hiding, but a Jewish soldier, forced to fight on Hitler's side doing something he didn't even believe in. 

As you go with young Georg on his journey, reading letters his mother saved, seeing photos of family, and looking at illustrations he drew back in that day, you feel for him. You want to sit with Georg, hug his past self, and tell him everything'll be okay. And what broke me after going on that journey with him was the fact that he's no longer here to reach out to. 

I am so, so grateful for being given a chance to read this book. So glad that, even after so many decades, Mr. Rauch finally chose to tell his story. I'm also incredibly grateful for his wife, Phyllis Rauch, for translating it into English; and to Farrar, Straus, & Giroux for getting Mr. Rauch's book to more readers.

This is a good read, guys, and worth every single minute.

Amazon | Barnes and Noble | Book Depository | iBooksGoodreads 

Waiting on Wednesday {81}: Instructions for the End of the World



Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Breaking the Spine. This week's can't-wait-to-read pre-publication book is: Instructions for the End of the World.


Instructions for the End of the World: A Novel



Instructions for the End of the World

by Jamie Kain


Publication date: December 8, 2015



From Goodreads:

He prepared their family for every natural disaster known to man—except for the one that struck.

When Nicole Reed’s father forces her family to move to a remote area of the Sierra Foothills, one without any modern conveniences, it's too much too handle for her mother, who abandons them in the middle of the night. Heading out to track her down, Nicole’s father leaves her in charge of taking care of the house and her younger sister, Izzy. For a while, Nicole is doing just fine running things on her own. But then the food begins to run out, the pipes crack, and forest fires start slowly inching their way closer every day. Wolf, a handsome boy from the neighboring community, offers to help her when she needs it most, but when she starts to develop feelings for him, feelings she knows she will never be allowed to act on once her father returns, she must make a decision. With her family falling apart, will she choose to continue preparing for tomorrow’s disasters, or will she take a chance and really start living for today?

Instructions for the End of the World is a gripping, young adult novel that explores family, friendship, and love in the midst of the most difficult and dangerous circumstances.

@Readergirlz' #RocktheDrop is TODAY!

 

It's here! I *so* look forward to ReaderGirlz' annual Rock the Drop. It's such a great way to spread the #booklove! :) This year I'm dropping a pretty decent amount of books, which is also exciting. And, since it's a weekday, most of my drops will happen after 3:30 (though a few are conveniently being dropped throughout the day, locally *cough* high schools *cough*).

So make sure to be alert as you go about your day today... you just might come across a book that's been dropped! Finders, keepers, ya'll! :)



Waiting on Wednesday {80}: We'll Never Be Apart



Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Breaking the Spine. This week's can't-wait-to-read pre-publication book is: We'll Never Be Apart.






We'll Never Be Apart

by Emiko Jean


Publication date: October 6th, 2015



From Goodreads:

Murder.

Fire.

Revenge.

That's all seventeen-year-old Alice Monroe thinks about. Committed to a mental ward at Savage Isle, Alice is haunted by memories of the fire that killed her boyfriend, Jason. A blaze her twin sister Cellie set. But when Chase, a mysterious, charismatic patient, agrees to help her seek vengeance, Alice begins to rethink everything. Writing out the story of her troubled past in a journal, she must confront hidden truths.

Is the one person she trusts only telling her half the story? Nothing is as it seems in this edge-of-your-seat psychological thriller from the debut author Emiko Jean.

This week's writerly news

This week's news and reminders real quick:

* Rock the Drop is next Thursday. More info, HERE.

* In honor of TWIST being released this week (I haven't gotten my review up yet... OOPS... coming soon), I thought I'd share Madi's review of the first book in the time-travel duology, LOOP. It'll totally get you in the mood to read TWIST. :D (Find on Amazon | Goodreads)

* If you participated in YASH, I hope you had FUN! :D I'll be contacting the winner of my exclusive audiobook giveaway this weekend. 

* I'm getting close to 500 likes on Facebook and 500 followers on Instagram. Five is my favorite number, so I'm thinking of doing some sort of fun giveaway when I reach 500 on both. What do ya think? :)

* Don't forget this month's #JLBgivesawayanINDIE is going strong and we updated the US giveaway. On top of a paperback *and* swag, Katie's made a Kindle cover that the winner gets to customize with their favorite quote. Check it out and enter the Rafflecopter for both the US and INTL giveaway, HERE


Okay I'm off. Lots to do, and only the weekend to do it! Have a blessed one, my friends!

Waiting on Wednesday {79}: Scarlett Undercover



Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Breaking the Spine. This week's can't-wait-to-read pre-publication book is: Scarlett Undercover.


Scarlett Undercover



Scarlett Undercover

by Jennifer Latham


Publication date: May 19th, 2015



From Goodreads:

A voice-driven mystery perfect for fans of Veronica Mars.
Meet Scarlett, a smart, sarcastic, kick-butt, Muslim American heroine, ready to take on crime in her hometown of Las Almas. When a new case finds the private eye caught up in a centuries-old battle of evil genies and ancient curses, Scarlett discovers that her own family secrets may have more to do with the situation than she thinks -- and that cracking the case could lead to solving her father's murder.

Jennifer Latham delivers a compelling story and a character to remember in this one-of-a-kind debut novel.

April's #JLBgivesawayanINDIE #giveaway: UNBREATHABLE by @HafsahFaizal

Enter to win the bottom Kindle
cover with a quote of your choice!


After a month off due to... life... we're back with April's #JLBgivesawayanINDIE giveaway and photo-a-day challenge! This month's indie is UNBREATHABLE by the beautiful Hafsah Laziaf of IceyBooks and IceyDesigns. This lady is a triple threat, guys. She designs, she writes, she draws, she is a gamer, she has a big heart, she runs an amazing book blog... whoops... that's way more than three things, isn't it? ;)  Well anyway. Her book is unique and it's what you call a "space opera", and I know you guys are going to LOVE it.

Unbreathable

About UNBREATHABLE:

One hundred and fifty years ago, Earth was destroyed, and the remaining humans fled to the dusty red planet of Jutaire, where the only oxygen is manufactured, food is scarce, and death strikes often.

When Lissa's father discovers Earth still exists, she accidentally inhales the toxic air of Jutaire, and in one breath, discovers she isn't quite human.


Her father hangs for his discovery, and Lissa knows the Chancellors will come for her, for she saw the Earth that night too. With nothing to lose, she sets out to expose the truth. It isn't long before she meets Julian, a beautiful boy who can breathe the toxic air like she can - and shows her that the Jute, the original inhabitants of the planet, are more tangled in their lives than she knows.


But the Chancellors are only pawns in a greater game - one where the Jute control everything. Worse, the Jute plan to leave Jutaire for Earth, but to get there, they need her. And they'll stop at nothing until Lissa is in their clutches, even if they kill every human in the process.


The race for Earth has begun.


Unbreathable is a tale of love, redemption, and sacrifice, and one girl's struggle to find her place in a world where she doesn't belong. Add to Goodreads

See? Doesn't it sound incredible? I'll be sharing the Rafflecopter below, but first, here's this month's photo-a-day challenge. It was a lot of fun coming up with challenges that were UNBREATHABLE-themed. (Remember, you don't *have* to participate in the photo-a-day challenge to win the Rafflecopter giveaway, but we'll be choosing two random challenge participants on Insta/Twitter and giving them something UNBREATHABLE-ish just for playing.) So share the below challenge, take those photos, use the hashtag #JLBgivesawayanINDIE on Twitter and/or Instagram, make sure to tag us so we *see* them, and have fun! (The photos can be bookish, but feel free to interpret the challenge word however you like.)



And now for the Rafflecopters! :D



Remember the photo you saw of the two Kindle covers at the beginning of the post? Well the uber-talented Katie Smith made those! The pink one is with a quote from UNBREATHABLE in unavailable, but the one above is up for grabs and she will personalize it with a quote of your choice! 

US giveaway:

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Plus, I decided to do one that's INTERNATIONAL:

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Woo! Spread the word, ya'll! :)